DocSend links are at the heart of the DocSend product! When you create a link, you’ll be prompted to configure unique link settings for one individual or an account, giving you even more control when sharing your content. These settings can also be modified at any time after the link has been created. Keep reading to learn more!
General Link Settings
On all plans, you’ll have the ability to configure general link settings for your document uploads.
Important: Download-Only Content and External URL Link Sharing will have limited link settings available.
You can configure a target account to associate the link and visits - this is typically the name of the organization or company you’re sharing content with. While this is not a required field, we highly recommend configuring an account so you can review your visits at the Account level.
Require Email to View
Enabling this feature will prompt visitors to provide a valid email address before viewing your content. When this option is not enabled, you will see the visitor's operating system and geolocation instead of their email or name. We recommend enabling this to help identify your visitors. To learn more about email validation, see Viewer Email Validation.
Enabling this feature will allow your visitors to download and print your shared content. We recommend exporting the file as a PDF if you prefer your content remains un-editable after download. On the other hand, when this feature is not enabled, visitors cannot download your content from the document viewer.
Enabling this feature will only allow your visitors access to your shared content for a specified period of time. This is a great way to create a sense of urgency and block access to content that may no longer be valid. When disabled, your visitors can access your shared content anytime - until it’s disabled.
Enabling this feature will require your visitors to input a passcode before gaining access to your shared content. We recommend providing the passcode in a separate message when sending the link.
Advanced Link Settings (on Advanced only)
The following link settings are only available on the Advanced plan at this time.
When enabled, this will automatically check both the Allowed Viewers and Email Authentication features. If you’d like to enable only one of them, you can uncheck this box and select each feature separately.
Restrict Access: Allow or Block Viewers (Access Control)
Restrict Access is our whitelisting and block list feature that allows you to restrict access to a specific set of recipients by leveraging Allow Viewers or Block Viewers.
- Allow Viewers: allow only specific email addresses or domains to access your shared links or Spaces. Once enabled, those who are on the allowed viewers list will be granted access and those who aren't will be denied access immediately.
- Block Viewers: Block specific email addresses or domains from accessing your shared links or Spaces. Once enabled, those who are on the Block list will be denied access immediately.
Read our article on Restrict Access: Allow or Block Viewers for more details.
Email Authentication (Access Control)
Enabling this feature will require your visitors to verify they have access to the email address provided. Note, visitors are required to verify their email on the same device they attempted to view your content. Read our article on Email Authentication for more details.
Watermarking allows you to add a custom watermark or select any combination of the elements captured as a part of the visit process to dynamically prefill the watermark. Read our article on Watermarking for more details.
Sensitive content needs robust security. By gating access with Agreements, your visitors will be required to download and agree to the terms of your agreement, such as a Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA), before accessing your shared content. Read our article on Gate Access with Agreements for more details.
Downgrading from Advanced
When you downgrade your account from Advanced, links with Advanced security settings enabled will be disabled. To keep your links active, you can remove all Advanced link settings before downgrading. Similarly, you can remove these settings after downgrading to reactivate any links disabled - see Updating Link Settings for more information.
Things to Consider
- Signable Documents will automatically enable Allow Downloading and Require email to view as both are required to collect eSignatures.
- Download-Only Content and External URL Link Sharing will have limited link settings since the “visit” occurs outside of the document viewer. Read the articles below to learn more!
Still need help? Reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org!