With transferring user data, company owners and admins can transfer all user data of a suspended or deactivated user to another active user. This feature allows DocSend users to retain important information owned by a non-active user to another active user seamlessly through the company user settings. This article will provide a step-by-step guide on how to transfer user data and detail what is retained during this process.
What gets transferred over?
Here's how it works:
- In the user settings, select Company > Users > Inactive to access and view all suspended and deactivated users to begin the transfer process.
- Note, only Inactive user accounts can be used to transfer into an active user (See Managing users for more details). If the user is still active, the user will need to be deactivated or suspended first.
- Only company admins and the owner of the user account will have access to transfer user data (see User roles for more details).
- The company owner or admin can then isolate the suspended or deactivated user and then select the more options menu to access Transfer user data option. Initiating the transfer user data process on a suspended account will change that account status to deactivated once the action is complete.
- The company admin can then search for other active users to merge with the selected user. Reactivating the user will make their user account searchable and available to merge into. If the user is inactive, they will not be visible in the transfer user data process.
- The company admin is then required to confirm the action by typing “TRANSFER” to complete the process. Important: Once transferred, this process is final and cannot be undone.
- Once confirmed, the merge process can take up to 3 minutes for the merge to be processed.
- Once the data transfer is complete the active user will be then be able to own and view all of the following from the previous user such as:
For more details, check out our other help center articles on: