On the Content page, you can leverage folders to organize your content. You can create folders to separate content by team, prospect or customer, or even document type. And with the ability to add subfolders to your folder structure, the possibilities are endless!
There are two main folder types in DocSend: personal folders and team folders.
- Team folders can be used to store and arrange public content that your team should have access to. Team folders can be found under the “Team Folders” section of the Content page.
- Personal folders are perfect for storing any private or sensitive documents because they’re only visible to you. Personal folders can be found under the “My Folders” section of the Content page.
Create a Folder
You can easily create a new folder or subfolder on the Content page:
- Click the “more options” icon next to the desired destination (E.g., Team Folders, My Folders, or an existing folder).
- Select Add folder.
Note: If you’re on an Enterprise plan with subteams enabled, you may also be prompted to select a folder owner.
- Name your folder and click Add folder.
After that, you can upload content into the new folder or drag and drop existing content into the folder.
On the Content page, you can perform additional actions to manage your content folders. From the “more options” menu, you can:
- Add a subfolder by following the steps in the previous section on an existing folder.
- Rename a folder
- Share a folder - this will create a Space containing all documents in the folder.
- Delete a folder - a confirmation message will appear before the folder is deleted.
Important: Deleting folders is not recommended because the action is irreversible and deleted content cannot be retrieved.
You can also move content by dragging and dropping it into a different folder. Here are a few things to keep in mind when moving content to different folders:
- Moving content from team folder to team folder typically has no effect on the content or its visibility.
- Moving content from a personal folder to a team folder immediately shares the content with your team and allows other users to see it.
- Moving content from a team folder to a personal folder immediately removes any teammates’ links and prevents other users from accessing the content. A confirmation message will appear before the content is moved.
Still need help? Reach out to email@example.com!