Linking Salesforce Accounts
DocSend Admins can explicitly map DocSend accounts to Salesforce accounts when creating a link or Space, and when on the Account page. Users will need to first link their DocSend and Salesforce accounts in the Connected Apps menu within user settings to ensure that account information can be synced.
Link & Space Creation
When creating a link or Space, users can search and fill in an account name from existing DocSend or Salesforce accounts. Users have the option to search for accounts in DocSend or Salesforce. Accounts that are already linked will be shown as such in the drop down search results.
Selecting a Salesforce account
In order for a link or Space to be synced to a Salesforce account, a user must either select a DocSend account that is already linked to a Salesforce account, or select an account from the Salesforce accounts tab in the search box.
- Selecting a Salesforce account when creating a new link or Space will automatically create and link a new corresponding DocSend account with the same name.
- If an unlinked DocSend account already exists as the selected Salesforce account, DocSend will automatically link both accounts.
- If a DocSend account already exists with the same name as the selected Salesforce account but is linked to a different Salesforce account, DocSend will automatically create a new DocSend account with the name [Salesforce Account name] (1).
Note: When syncing visits, DocSend will first attempt to sync to a Lead or Contact in Salesforce based on the visitor’s email and the company’s Salesforce settings. If a Lead or Contact cannot be synced, DocSend will instead sync on the account level. If an account is not linked to Salesforce, and if a Lead or Contact is not found, the visit activity will not be able to sync to an existing record in Salesforce.
All DocSend accounts can be linked to a Salesforce account by visiting the Account tab. If a DocSend account is linked to a Salesforce account after the link has been sent out, any new visit activity will sync to the newly linked Salesforce account. Historical visits or link/Space creation activity associated with that account will not sync to the new account.
Linking & Unlinking accounts
While on the Account page, users will be able to link or unlink accounts by selecting the more options menu. Linking or editing a Salesforce link will pop a modal where you can search across all of your Salesforce accounts.
- Unlinked accounts can be linked to a Salesforce account at any time from the account page
- Linked account can be changed or removed from the more options menu on the account page:
Syncing linked accounts
If a Salesforce account is already linked to another DocSend account, it will be disabled in the search results. Multiple DocSend accounts cannot be synced to the same Salesforce account.
When a Salesforce account is linked to an existing DocSend account, we will attempt to update the DocSend account name to match the Salesforce account name. If a DocSend account already exists with the same name as the selected Salesforce account, we’ll rename the DocSend account to [Salesforce account name] (1).
Updating a linked Salesforce account will only affect new visits and link/Space creations. Any historical visit, link, or Space activity associated with the DocSend account will not be synced to the new Salesforce account. If the linked Salesforce account is updated after a link is sent out, all new visit activity that occurs will sync to the new Salesforce account.
- Deleting a linked Salesforce account in Salesforce.
- The next time we attempt to sync to the Salesforce account, we will detect that it has been deleted and unlink it from the DocSend account.
- Changing a Salesforce account name after being linked to a DocSend account.
- Since the account names will be out of sync, users will need to relink the Salesforce accounts from the DocSend account page to ensure the account names are synced.