- Getting started
- Inviting users
- Adding a Payment Method and Upgrading
- Upgrading to a Different plan
- Trial Expiration Notice
When creating a DocSend account, users will automatically receive a 14-day trial of our Advanced plan to try out the enhanced security features. Feel free to reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org to request for the Advanced trial.
Here’s a brief overview of how it works:
Once confirmed, a welcome email will be sent to the user highlighting all of the the features they have access to as part of the Advanced trial (see the Advanced plan for more details).
At any point during your trial, you can opt to purchase the plan you are trialing. You can find more details on how to do this below.
If you do not upgrade by the end of the trial, you will automatically be downgraded to the Limited Trial and features of the premium plan you had access to will be disabled. Reactivating your subscription will re-enable the disabled content.
Users will be able to invite other team members during the trial period to try out features before purchasing a plan. To invite users, go to the company user settings here. Users will be able add up to 20 users while on the trial. While on the Advanced trial, users can have up to three invited users at no additional cost. Adding additional users will cost more. Please check out our pricing page for more details
Adding a Payment Method and Upgrading
Users can see which plan they are on by looking at the top left corner of the toolbar. When on a trial, users will see a permanent banner showing how many days are left on the trial. Upgrading to a paid subscription will remove the yellow banner.
Currently, only the owner of the account will see the banner and button to add a payment method to purchase a plan. Check out User Roles for more details.
Clicking Add card will take the user to the checkout page, with the plan they are currently trialing pre-selected. Users will also be able to change:
Note: If you upgrade to a plan that is different than the one you are currently on a trial of, your account will be upgraded to that plan and your card will be charged immediately.
Trial Expiration Notice
DocSend will notify users 3 days prior to the end of a trial on the webapp and through email. Users can add billing information or select the Add card option on the trial banner to subscribe to the plan.
Once a user's trial or subscription ends, the user account will automatically be downgraded to the Limited Trial, disabling all premium features applicable to the Standard, Advanced, and Enterprise plan. Any document or Space utilizing any of the premium features will be disabled and inaccessible to visitors. Documents, links, Spaces, and visitor data will not be disabled but will be inaccessible until the user upgrades again. Upgrading to the same or higher tier subscription will reactivate all of the features and disabled content.
For disabled links:
Disabling premium features
Users can also remove any of the premium features to reactivate a link. For example, enhanced security features such as allowed viewers and email authentication can be removed within the link settings to reactivate access to the link without having to be on any of the premium plans.