You can disable access to any DocSend link you’ve created with the flip of a switch. Access can be updated in real-time and is a great way to ensure you have more control over your content as you share them with your contacts. This article will break down how to effectively disable access to both document and Space links while giving you some best practices on how to better manage access.
- Disable Access to a Document Link
- Disable Access to a Space Link
- Visitor Experience for Disabled Links
- Best Practices
Disable Access to a Document Link
- Start by opening your document from the Content page.
- Scroll down to the "All Links" section and locate the link accessibility toggle next to the desired link.
- Click the link accessibility toggle to immediately disable access; a disabled link will have a gray toggle. Access can be immediately re-enabled by clicking the toggle again.
Disable Access to a Space Link
- Start by selecting your Space from the Spaces page.
- Click ‘Share’ to view all links for that Space.
- Click the link accessibility toggle to disable all access to this Space; a disabled Space link will have a gray toggle. Access can be immediately re-enabled by clicking the toggle again.
Alternatively, you can disable individual files in a Space rather than the entire Space. For more details, check out our article on Managing Content In Spaces.
Note: If you are on the Advanced plan, you’ll also be able to control what files and folders each contact can see. To learn more about that process, please check out our article on Granular Space Permissions.
Visitor Experience for Disabled Links
When a visitor attempts to access a disabled link, they’ll see a banner notification letting them know that the content is no longer accessible and to reach out to the content owner. The name field can be updated on your personal User Settings page.
If you own the link, you'll receive an automatic email notification of the attempted visit. Detailed visitor information such as the name and email will not be recorded since the visitor did not access the content.
Note: You can adjust your notification settings to disable these types of emails. However, we recommend keeping these enabled since they provide a quick way for you to re-enable link access in the visit notification.
Whenever possible, we recommend creating separate links for your recipients. Doing so can aid in ensuring that access can be more granularly maintained. For example, disabling a link that was shared with many recipients can result in all of the recipients simultaneously losing access, while separate links can allow you to pick and choose who should have their access revoked.
It's also possible to delete a link to remove access, but we do not recommend deleting links because doing so will also delete the associated visitor data. Since deleted links and their associated data cannot be retrieved, we recommend disabling a link instead, whenever possible.
Still need help? Reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org!