Available on: Advanced Enterprise
When setting up your data rooms with Spaces, you’ll have ultimate control of what content your visitors can access. You’ll be able to hide specific Space folders and content across different Space links and configure downloading, among other settings, for specific content. Since you can set these permissions across various Space links, you can create Space links tailored explicitly for different accounts, all while managing one Space to save you time!
Check out these two examples of one Space reflecting two different visitor experiences: Link 1 requires an email for some content and not for others, while Link 2 allows only specific files to be downloaded.
- Space Link vs. Granular Space Permissions
- Configure Granular Space Permissions
- Things to Consider
Space Link vs. Granular Space Permissions
Before we get into configuring your Space permissions, it's good to understand that a Space link is a link you share with your visitors, while the Granular Space Permissions you set work to supplement the visitor's experience when they access your Space link.
- Space Link: This is the link you’ll share with visitors. You can access this link by clicking on Share in Spaces or through the permissions window. The link settings configured at this level apply to ALL content under the Space unless configured otherwise (Granular Space Permissions).
- Granular Space Permissions: These are link settings associated with specific content under your Space, not the entire Space. These permissions will supplement the Space link they are configured for.
Configure Granular Space Permissions
- Go to your Spaces page.
- Click on the desired Space or create a Space.
- Once on your Space, click on Permissions.
- Select the desired link you’d like to apply permissions for. Note: Granular Space Permissions are set for a specific Space link.
- Once selected, you’ll see a list of all content housed under your Space. Click on the desired content you’d like to configure permissions for and you’ll see three permission options you can enable/disable for that specific content:
- Require email to view: If enabled at the Space link level, this link setting will be uneditable at the permissions level. To edit permissions, the Space link settings will need to be reconfigured - for more information on updating a Space link see Updating Link Settings.
- Allow downloading: This link setting will be uneditable if you’re sharing download-only content or a signable document.
- Require NDA to view: If enabled at the Space link level, this link setting will be uneditable at the permissions level. To edit permissions, the Space link settings can be updated - for more information on updating a Space link see Updating Link Settings.
- Once your desired permissions are configured, click Save Permissions.
When on the permissions window, Custom Settings: will appear when you’ve configured settings for a specific piece of content (Space folder/document) that are different from the Space folder or Space link, depending on where the item is nested.
Important: If a document is housed under a Space folder, custom settings will appear for the settings that are different from the Space folder settings.
Hide a Space Folder/Content
- On the permissions window, click on the desired Space link.
- You should see a list of all documents and folders in your Space and a column to the right-hand side that says SHOW.
- Configure what content you’d like hidden or visible.
- Blank checkbox: The content is hidden to all those visiting that unique Space link. Hidden content will reflect greyed out titles.
- Purple checkbox: The content is visible for all those visiting that unique Space link.
Things to Consider
- Moving Content: The custom settings for a specific piece of content carry over if moved to a different folder. If no custom settings are configured, it will adapt to the new folder’s settings.
- Space Folder: The permissions configured for a Space folder will automatically apply to all content housed under that folder.
- Content in Trash: Content and folders moved to trash will lose the permissions configured.
- Downgrading: If you downgrade to Standard, all Space links with permissions configured will be disabled. To re-enable those links, you can disable all Granular Space Permissions. If you downgrade to Personal, all Spaces and their links will be disabled as Spaces is only available on Standard and Advanced. To re-enable your link with Granular Space Permissions, you can switch back to Advanced.
- Space Collaborators: Granular Space Permissions you configure can be edited by your Space collaborators.
- Gmail/Chrome/Outlook: Granular Space Permissions is only supported on the web application.
- Uneditable Permissions: If Require email to view, Allowed Viewers, Email Authentication, or Require NDA are enabled at the Space link level, then the granular permissions will be uneditable at the document and folder level. To edit permissions, you’ll need to update the Space link setting by disabling any of the link settings mentioned.
- Granular Space Permissions for mobile
Still need help? Reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org!